End of week 2

gopr2728.jpg

This week in Bilbao… that sounds like the beginning of a tv show. None the less, it has been an eventful week. All the choreography is made and it’s time to take a step forward towards production. We engaged in some site specific work, which was invigorating to say the least, and I finally got to see the chains I have been studying for months! It feels as if everything is beginning to come together. My body aches from the stress but each day I get more and more accustomed to the level of activity. Soon I believe I could run a marathon. (Not really, but I can aspire) The community and the Zawp family are becoming pretty eager about our work, too. It’s one of the best encouragements to the work I’m doing along side these great artists. Rachel

It’s been interesting to see how our group has developed over the last two weeks. Every day we learn more about each other and we are able to use our shared experiences as a platform to grow as a group. Over the last week, we have had the opportunity to explore the city of Bilbao and become more connected with our surroundings. Our trip to the beach was both productive and liberating, marking another step in the progression of this project. Today we had our first performance, which went great. It was amazing to perform with complete trust in each other, building off of each other’s energy to create beautiful movements while telling the story of our adventure. Naomi

Wow, performance number one, done. It feels so good to have something accomplished, for yourself and for this project. Rehearsals are always filled giggles, jokes, mistakes, and even frustration, but these all disappear when you get serious about your work onstage. I found myself appreciating the art of performing again and I went into the zone. I found myself releasing the stresses of the outside world and focused on what I was dancing. I reminded myself, think about “where” you’re dancing, whether its the airport or the fields. This helped me get more into character and I found myself really “grabbing mud” or “waiting for my flight”. Weird, but cool feeling. We have our tech rehearsals starting tomorrow to clean everything before our big show and I am not at all worried about it.
Morgan

 

Leave a comment